Follow Us On

Adrian W.S Batt

Choreographer

Details

Biography

A graduate of DancEast and the École supérieure de ballet de Québec (ESBQ), Adrian W.S. Batt has collaborated with renowned choreographers, including Étienne Gagnon-Delorme, Gioconda Barbuto and Vanessa Garcia-Ribala.

In 2018, he received an Excellency Bursary from the Caisse de la culture Desjardins for the ESBQ’s Jeune Scène d’affaires Program. He has been a member of the Compagnie Marie-Chouinard since 2019. Festival Quartiers Danses (FQD) presented his “Mundi Scaenam” piece in 2019. In collaboration with his Gargoyle Dance Club Company, he created “lunctio V” in 2021, as well as “Longueur d’Onde”, a solo piece designed for his long-standing artistic associate, Mateo Picone.

Artistic vision

My work is mostly guided by various ideas I try to translate into physical form and share with the audience. I ask the performers the following question: “How does this specific concept stimulate your body?” This research provides me with the basis of the piece’s physical elements. Together, we create a physical language and an imaginary world we can share. The piece is suspended between what I try to communicate and how I communicate it to the audience.

11 September 202212:00
16 September 202212:30

Follow Us On

Adrian W.S Batt

Chorégraphe 

Détails

Biographie

Diplômé de DancEast et de l’École supérieure de ballet du Québec (ESBQ), Adrian W.S. Batt a collaboré avec des chorégraphes de renom tels qu’Étienne Gagnon-Delorme, Gioconda Barbuto et Vanessa Garcia-Ribala.

En 2018, il a reçu la bourse d’excellence de la Caisse de la culture Desjardins dans le cadre du programme Jeune scène d’affaires de l’ESBQ. Il est membre de la Compagnie Marie-Chouinard depuis 2019. Sa pièce « Mundi Scaenam » a été présentée au Festival Quartiers Danses (FQD) en 2019. En 2021, avec sa compagnie Gargoyle Dance Club, il a créé « Iunctio V » ainsi qu’une création solo « Longueur d’Onde » pour le danseur Mateo picone, un associé artistique de longue date.

Vision artistique

Mon travail est principalement guidé par des idées que je cherche à traduire sous forme physique pour les partager avec le public. La question que je pose aux interprètes est la suivante : « De quelle manière ce concept particulier stimule-t-il vos corps ? » Ce travail de recherche me permet d’établir les bases des éléments physiques de la pièce. Ensemble, nous créons un langage physique et un monde imaginaire qui peuvent être partagés. La pièce réside dans l’espace entre ce que j’essaie de communiquer et la manière dont je le communique au public.

11 septembre 202212:00