The launch of our project
Creative Laboratories/Residencies
Informal performances
Cultural mediation workshops
Our partners
The launch of our project

June 23rd
Gedeon-de-Catalogne Park

On June 23, under the presidency of Louise Harel, co-governor of the FQD, and presented by Marc Béland, president and spokesperson of the FQD, the official launch of our pilot project of public dance residences at Parc-Gédéon-de-Catalogne took place. We were able to count on the presence of :

Audrey Rioux, Senior Manager, Marketing and Distribution, MAtv

Sylvie Cordeau, Vice President, Philanthropy and Sponsorship of Quebecor;

Benoit Dorais, Mayor of the Sud-Ouest Borough and Chairman of the Executive Committee;

and the choreographers and dancers of the 19th edition of the festival. It was a beautiful moment of sharing, with three new dance performances as a bonus:

Pauline Gervais’ duet from the Pauline Berndsen Dance Company with dancer Leah Tremblay : watch the performance

The duet of choreographer Adrian Batt of the Gargoyle Dance Club company with dancer Emma-Lynn MacKay Ronacher and dancer Mateo Picone : watch the performance

Tentacle Tribe‘s duet with choreographer/dancer Elon Höglund and dancer Amara Barner : watch the performance

To (re)watch the launch it’s here !

Creative Laboratories/Residencies

June 28th from September 3rd

This innovative initiative of public creatives laboratories/residencies consists of offering a maximum of 17 dance groups/companies of artists (for a total of 60 performers) an outdoor space to practice their art, during the whole summer, in front of the audience. These artists will have the opportunity to create, work on and finalize their works using the two stages made available to them in Gedeon-de-Catalogne Park. Their final creations will be presented in the neighborhoods of Montreal, during the 19th edition of the festival from September 8 to 19, 2021.

Each group/company will have two to three weeks of public residencies for a total of 10 consecutive weeks of rehearsals in the park. These creative laboratories/residencies will allow the citizens of the Saint-Henri district, tourists and passers-by to experience the world of contemporary dance in the open air and to become familiar with the process of artistic creation of choreographic works.

Residencies take place throughout the summer, from June 28 to September 3, 2021. Come and see the rehearsals in the park from Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm! Come and discover new talents, unusual approaches, singular artists. Everyone is welcome!

Informal performances

Reconnecting with the public

In anticipation of the 19th edition of the festival in September, the outdoor performances will allow the artists to gradually reconnect with the public.

After several months of having access to Quebec culture only through digital means, we believe that Montrealers and tourists in the city need to see live performances. These informal performances will revitalize the Sud-Ouest borough by bringing creative dance directly to the Saint-Henri neighborhood.

“What could be more natural, if you are preparing a work for an urban context, to rehearse that piece, in an urban context, surrounded by the audience and the ambient sounds of the city.” Rafik Hubert Sabbagh, Executive and Artistic Director at Festival Quartiers Danses.

“How nice to get an intimate look at an artist’s creative process and, subsequently, to see the final work at the festival next September!”  Marc Béland, FQD’s president and spokesperson.

Cultural mediation workshops

Joining the community

The creation labs in Gedeon-de-Catalogne park will be an opportunity to create new links with the citizens of the Sud-Ouest borough:

Cultural mediation workshops with the neighborhood day camps

All artists benefiting from the creation space will be invited to offer a cultural mediation workshop and a performance for the neighborhood day camps in the Gedeon-de-Catalogne park. The artists will collaborate with the FQD’s cultural mediation team to create unique and playful activities that will introduce children to their artistic process. The artists will then perform an excerpt from their piece for the children’s groups.

“We take advantage of this opportunity to develop a taste for dance from an early age. This residency program contributes to the development of new audiences for dance: the very young! ” Rafik Hubert Sabbagh, Executive and Artistic Director at Festival Quartiers Danses.

Our partners

Thank you

                      

                         

           

Photos credits : © FQD

Le lancement de notre projet
Laboratoires / résidences publiques de création
Représentations publiques
Ateliers de médiation culturelle
Nos partenaires
Le lancement de notre projet

23 juin 2021
Parc Gédéon-de-Catalogne

Le 23 juin a eu lieu, sous la présidence de Louise Harel, co-gouverneure du FQD et présenté par Marc Béland président et porte-parole du FQD, le lancement officiel, de notre projet pilote de résidences publiques de danse au Parc-Gédéon-de-Catalogne.

Nous avons pu compter sur la présence de :

Madame Audrey Rioux, Gestionnaire principale, Marketing et distribution de MATv, la chaîne citoyenne de Vidéotron;

Madame Sylvie Cordeau, Vice-Présidente, philanthropie et commandite de Québecor;

Monsieur Benoit Dorais, maire de l’arrondissement du Sud-Ouest et président du comité exécutif;

ainsi que les chorégraphes et danseurs.euses de la 19e édition du festival. Ce fut un beau moment de partage, avec en prime trois performances inédites de danse :

Le duo de Pauline Gervais de la compagnie Pauline Berndsen Danse avec la danseuse Leah Tremblay : voir la performance

Le duo du chorégraphe Adrian Batt de la compagnie Gargoyle Dance Club avec les danseurs Mateo Picone et Alexandre Charbonneau : voir la performance

Le duo de la compagnie Tentacle Tribe avec le chorégraphe et danseur Elon Höglund et la danseuse Amara Barner : voir la performance

Pour (re)voir le lancement c’est ici!

Laboratoires / résidences publiques de création

28 juin au 3 septembre 2021

Cette initiative innovante de résidences publiques de création consiste à offrir à 17 groupes/compagnies de danse, totalisant plus d’une soixantaine d’interprètes, un espace extérieur pour pratiquer leur art devant le public, durant tout l’été. Ces artistes auront la possibilité de créer, de travailler et de finaliser leurs œuvres en utilisant les 2 scènes mises à leur disposition au parc Gédéon-de-Catalogne. Leurs créations finales seront présentées dans les quartiers de Montréal, lors de la prochaine édition du festival du 8 au 19 septembre 2021.

Chaque groupe/compagnie aura deux à trois semaines de résidences publiques comptabilisant ainsi 10 semaines consécutives de répétition dans le parc. Ces résidences de création permettront aux citoyens du quartier Saint-Henri, aux touristes ainsi qu’aux passants de côtoyer, en plein air, l’univers de la danse contemporaine et de se familiariser avec le processus de création artistique d’œuvres chorégraphiques.

Les résidences ont lieu durant tout l’été, du 28 juin au 3 septembre 2021. Rendez-vous du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 17h pour venir assister aux répétitions dans le parc ! Venez découvrir de nouveaux talents, des démarches inusitées, des artistes singuliers. Toutes et tous sont bienvenu.e.s!

Représentations publiques

Renouer avec le public

En prévision de la 19ème édition du festival en septembre, les résidences publiques permettront aux artistes de renouer graduellement avec le public.

Après plusieurs mois à n’avoir accès à la culture québécoise que par le biais du numérique, nous croyons que les Montréalais.e.s et les touristes de la métropole ont besoin d’assister à des performances vivantes. Ces représentations informelles permettront de revitaliser culturellement l’Arrondissement du Sud-Ouest en amenant la danse de création directement dans les communautés de quartier.

“Quoi de plus naturel, si tu prépares une œuvre qui sera performée en contexte urbain, que de répéter cette pièce, en contexte urbain, entouré du public et des bruits ambiants de la ville!” Rafik Hubert Sabbagh, directeur général et artistique du FQD.

Comme c’est sympathique d’avoir un regard intime sur le processus de création d’un artiste et, par la suite, de voir le travail final lors du festival en septembre prochain!” Marc Béland, président et porte-parole du FQD.

Ateliers de médiation culturelle

S’inscrire dans la communauté

Les laboratoires de création dans le parc Gédéon-de-Catalogne seront une opportunité de créer de nouveaux liens avec les citoyennes et citoyens de l’arrondissement du Sud-Ouest :

Des ateliers de médiation culturelle avec les camps de jours du quartier

Tous les artistes bénéficiant de l’espace de création seront invités à offrir un atelier de médiation culturelle et une performance pour les enfants de 4 à 12 ans des camps du jour du CRCS St-Zotique et autres.

Nous profitons de cette opportunité pour développer, dès l’âge tendre, un goût pour la danse. Ce programme de résidences contribue au développement de nouveaux publics pour la danse: les tous petits! Rafik Hubert Sabbagh, directeur général et artistique du FQD.

Nos partenaires

Merci

   

                         

 

                  

          

Crédits photos : © FQD