AXISTURN – Opening night / Triple bill

Let’s open the in-theatre program of the FQD with three awe-inspiring solo performances. Brought to a breathtaking nature, three characters arrive, transform themselves, evolve and progress towards someplace else.

Bound by a common vision, Katia Gagné, Jeffrey Hall and Lana Morton present three distinct creations and transpose the loophole of thought onto movement and images: when the reality of daily life confronts, provokes, causes friction and forces the axes of the unconscious to topple over. How can a transitional moment be revisited and reread through the body?

Buy your tickets

FALLING - Jeffrey Hall (Montreal) - 16 min.

JeffHall_Falling_c_AnthonyMcLean_webFQD© Anthony McLean Forever changed after an accident, Falling gives us a peek into the emotional struggle of a man to regain his physical abilities, his presence, his life. A breathtaking, moving and shocking solo performance! This dance honours his challenge, his story.
Choreographer / Performer Jeffrey Hall
Assistant Mark Eden-Towle
Music Dexter X et Ariel Santana / Spider (Jon Hopkins Remix) composée par Leo AbrahamsMighty Rio Grande par Mychael Danna
Costumes Helen Rainbird
Lighting Claire Lamarre
Acknowledgements  Brigitte Grenier / Marc Béland / Michael Reinhart /  Marlene Millar and Philip Szporer (Mouvement Perpétuel) Big thanks for the scenic screen. Original design by Anick La Bissonnière for Molly Bloom, an original Company Sibyllines creation, general and artistic direction by Brigitte Haentjens.

 

JeffHall_Falling-Portrait-c-MichaelSlobodian_FQDWeb© Michael Slobodian

Biography of the choreographer

Jeff Hall is a multifaceted artist. Throughout his prolific 30-year career, he has creatively explored dance, film, theatre and the circus arts. He is recognized for the theatrical, athletic and spectacular style of his works, which blends humour, dialogue and physical performance. He choreographed ZAIA and TOTEM for Cirque du Soleil while creating and directing two large-scale touring shows in Chile and a permanent one in Bali. His last creation Ruelle was presented at Montreal Complement Cirque 2015. Falling is his first solo performance since his fall in 2002.

Artistic vision

Falling is a unique opportunity for me to perform again. I’ve invested much over the past ten years working as a stage director and choreographer on larger scale shows, yet I am burning with a passion to regain the stage myself in an intimate performance. I feel artistically that this solo presents a pristine moment for me to delve into this horrific journey, expanding my own choreographic language while installing a vision of hope to all about overcoming personal trials and tribulations.

Website

jeffhallcreations.com

AUTRES FRÉQUENCES - Lana Morton (Ottawa) - 20 min.

Lana-Morton-AutresFrequences-c-LindsayRalph_FQDweb© Lindsay Ralph A civil servant can no longer breathe in her office. Strangled by her suit, exhausted by city life, her body tumbles and reaches other frequencies. Striking and troubling, Lana Morton questions her sense of identity on a physical and psychological level and brings us along for the ride.
Performer(s) Lana Morton
Rehearsal coach / external viewpoint Yvonne Coutts
Music Frédéric Levac /Lana Morton
Costumes Lana Morton
Lighting Claire Lamarre / Fraser MacKinnon
Photography Lindsay Ralph Michel Dozois
Acknowledgements Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD), Yvonne Coutts, Katia Gagné, Jeff Hall, Tedd Robinson, Michel Dozois, Fraser MacKinnon, Marianne Carrière, Steven Tomich, Luka Tomich

 

LanaMorton-portrait-c-Michel-Dozois_FQDweb© Michel Dozois

Biography of the choreographer

Lana Morton graduated from UQAM and has been working in Ottawa since 1996. Very involved in the community, she is mostly known for her individual choreographic works. She dances with choreographer Yvonne Coutts, Le Groupe, Dorsale Danse and collaborates with Théâtre la Catapulte and Théâtre du Trillium. Since 2010, Lana is the Artistic Assistant and Production Manager of Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD). She is also the founder and presenter of SERIES DANCE 10.

Artistic vision

I am fascinated by the composition of a choreographic universe that transcends the human fragility while exposing its resilience. My movement vocabulary is deeply rebellious and unavowed. Constantly pushed by fleeting vulnerability, I seek to evoke fragile, yet ferocious images, highly sensitive emotions and the movement vocabulary of a body aspiring to carve the space.

Website

lmorton1.wix.com/lanamorton

SOEUR D'UNE AUTRE MER - Katia Gagné (Montréal) - 20 min.

Katia-Gagne_Soeurduneautremer_c_Zoi-Kilakos_FQDWeb© Irène Zoi Kilakos A body searching for a breath of fresh air and a ray of light, short of breath, crawling, flowing, transforming, captivated. With finesse and feminity, Katia Gagné delivers an ecological, cinematic and oceanic soaring.
Performer(s) Katia Gagné
Music Bruno Pucella
Costumes Katia Gagné
Lighting Claire Lamarre
Camera and editingMathieu Leblanc
Photographer Irène Zoi Kilakos
Acknowledgments  Centre chorégraphique Divertimento / Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD) / Résidence Espace Marie Chouinard

 

KatiaGagne-Soeurduneautremer-portrait-c-Arsenio-Coroa_FQDWeb© Arsénio Corôa

Biography of the choreographer

Katia Gagné integrates movement, original music, text, and video to create works that combine dance, theatre and cinema. She has been a dancer for Carbone 14, a teacher and the Artistic Director for the Festival international de la chanson de Granby. She is interested in seeking alternative means of presenting live art forms. The first part of Elle-moi: D’un bout du monde à l’autre was presented at Festival Quartiers Danses in 2014. This piece will be shown in its entirety in 2017 at the new OAGAO Art Gallery in Ottawa with Series Dance 10 and ODD; and also at Danse-Cité in Montreal and CD spectacles in Gaspé.

Artistic vision

I like fusing choreographic writing with body percussions, pulsations and pounding. My personal training also incorporates vocal explorations that involve sound work and rhythm. I like developing a set of concrete tools that foster body awareness to release tensions, the presence of meridians and energy channels that run through the body and breathing, which allow to push physical and mental boundaries.

Website

katiagagne.com

Buy your tickets

AXISTURN – Soirée d’ouverture / Programme triple

Ouvrons la programmation en salle du FQD avec trois solos époustouflant. Transportés dans une nature à couper le souffle, trois personnages arrivent, se transforment, évoluent et cheminent vers un ailleurs.

Autour d’une vision commune, Katia Gagné, Jeffrey Hall et Lana Morton présentent trois œuvres distinctes et transposent en mouvement et en images l’échappatoire de la pensée : lorsque la réalité du quotidien confronte, provoque, frictionne et force les axes de l’inconscient à chavirer. Comment un moment charnière peut-il être revisité et relu à travers le corps?

Achetez vos billets

FALLING - Jeffrey Hall (Montréal) - 16 min.

JeffHall_Falling_c_AnthonyMcLean_webFQD Changé à jamais à la suite d’un accident, Falling laisse entrevoir la lutte émotive d’un homme afin de retrouver ses capacités physiques, sa présence, sa vie. Un solo époustouflant, émouvant et révoltant ! Cette danse rend honneur à son défi, son histoire.
Interprète(s) Jeffrey Hall
Assistant mise en scène Mark Eden-Towle
Musique Dexter X et Ariel Santana / Spider (Jon Hopkins Remix) composée par Leo Abrahams / Mighty Rio Grande par Mychael Danna
Costumes Helen Rainbird
Éclairages Claire Lamarre
Remerciements Brigitte Grenier / Marc Béland / Michael Reinhart/ Marlene Millar/ Philip Szporer (Mouvement Perpétuel). Un grand merci à Anick La Bissonnière pour l’écran scénique de Molly Bloom, une création originale de la compagnie Sibyllines, direction artistique et générale de Brigitte Haentjens
© Anthony McLean

 

JeffHall_Falling-Portrait-c-MichaelSlobodian_FQDWeb© Michael Slobodian

Biographie de l'artiste

Jeff Hall est un artiste aux facettes multiples. Au cours de sa carrière prolifique de 30 ans, il a exploré créativement la danse, le cinéma, le théâtre et les arts circassiens. Il est reconnu pour son style théâtral, athlétique et spectaculaire ; ses œuvres allient humour, dialogue et performance physique. Il a chorégraphié ZAIA et TOTEM pour le Cirque du Soleil tout en créant et en dirigeant deux spectacles à grand déploiement en tournée au Chili et un autre permanent à Bali. Sa dernière création, Ruelle, a été présentée en 2015 à Montréal Complèment Cirque. Falling est son premier solo depuis sa chute en 2002..

Démarche artistique

Falling est une occasion unique pour moi de me produire en public à nouveau. Au cours des dix dernières années, je me suis beaucoup investi en tant que metteur en scène et chorégraphe de spectacles à grand déploiement ; pourtant, la passion de retourner sur scène lors d’une prestation intime m’anime. J’ai l’impression que sur le plan artistique ce solo m’offre une occasion nouvelle de me plonger dans ce périple éprouvant afin d’élargir mon propre langage chorégraphique tout en communiquant un message d’espoir face aux épreuves personnelles.

Site Web

jeffhallcreations.com

AUTRES FRÉQUENCES - Lana Morton (Ottawa) - 20 min.

Lana-Morton-AutresFrequences-c-LindsayRalph_FQDweb© Lindsay Ralph Une fonctionnaire dans son bureau ne respire plus. Bâillonné dans son tailleur, épuisé par la vie urbaine, son corps bascule et se retrouve lié à d’autres fréquences. Percutant et perturbant, Lana Morton nous transporte dans son questionnement identitaire autant physique que psychique.
Interprète(s) Lana Morton
Répétiteur / œil extérieur Yvonne Coutts
Musique Frédéric Levac /Lana Morton
Costumes Lana Morton
Éclairages Claire Lamarre / Fraser MacKinnon
Photographes Lindsay Ralph Michel Dozois
Remerciements Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD), Yvonne Coutts, Katia Gagné, Jeff Hall, Tedd Robinson, Michel Dozois, Fraser MacKinnon, Marianne Carrière, Steven Tomich, Luka Tomich

 

LanaMorton-portrait-c-Michel-Dozois_FQDweb© Michel Dozois

Biographie de l'artiste

Lana Morton est bachelière de l’UQAM et travaille à Ottawa depuis 1996. Très active dans la communauté, elle est surtout reconnue pour ses œuvres chorégraphiques individuelles. Elle danse avec la chorégraphe Yvonne Coutts, Le Groupe, Dorsale Danse et collabore avec le Théâtre la Catapulte et le Théâtre du Trillium. Depuis 2010, Lana est adjointe artistique et directrice de production du Centre de danse contemporaine/Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD). Elle est également fondatrice et présentatrice de SÉRIE DANSE 10.

Démarche artistique

Je suis fascinée par la composition d’un univers chorégraphique qui transcende la fragilité humaine tout en étalant sa résilience. Je m’exprime dans une gestuelle profondément inavouée et rebelle. Toujours poussée par la vulnérabilité du moment, je cherche à évoquer des images fragiles et féroces, des émotions à fleur de peau et la gestuelle d’un corps qui veut trancher l’espace.

Site Web

lmorton1.wix.com/lanamorton

SOEUR D'UNE AUTRE MER - Katia Gagné (Montréal) - 20 min.

Katia Gagné Soeur d'une autre mer FQD2016© Irène Zoi Kilakos Un corps à la recherche d’une bouffée d’air et d’un rayon de lumière, le souffle court, rampant, ondoyant, transformant, captivé. Avec finesse et féminité, Katia Gagné nous livre une envolée écologique, cinématographique et océanique.
Interprète(s) Katia Gagné
Musique Bruno Pucella
CostumesKatia Gagné
Éclairages Claire Lamarre
Caméra et montage Mathieu Leblanc
Photographe  Irène Zoi Kilakos
Remerciements Centre chorégraphique Divertimento / Ottawa Dance Directive (ODD) / Résidence Espace Marie Chouinard

 

KatiaGagne-Soeurduneautremer-portrait-c-Arsenio-Coroa_FQDWeb © Arsénio Corôa

Biographie de l'artiste

Intégrant le mouvement, la musique originale, le texte, la vidéo, les pièces de Katia Gagné allient danse, théâtre et cinéma. Elle a été interprète pour Carbone 14, ainsi que formatrice et directrice artistique du Festival international de la chanson de Granby. Elle s’intéresse à rechercher des formes de présentations alternatives pour l’art vivant. La première partie de Elle-moi : D’un bout du monde à l’autre a été présentée au Festival Quartiers Danses en 2014. L’Intégrale sera présentée en 2017 à la nouvelle galerie d’art OAGAO à Ottawa avec Série Danse 10 et ODD, à Danse-cité à Montréal, et à CD spectacles à Gaspé.

Démarche artistique

J’aime fusionner à l’écriture chorégraphique, des percussions corporelles, des pulsations et des martèlements de corps. Mon entrainement personnel intègre aussi l’exploration vocale et propose d’effectuer un travail sonore incluant le rythme. J’aime élaborer un système d’outils concrets pour conscientiser le corps pour délier les tensions, la présence des méridiens et des canaux énergétiques qui circulent à travers le corps, et la respiration qui permettent de pousser les limites physiques et psychiques.

Site web

katiagagne.com

Achetez vos billets