Festival Quartiers Danses

Twitter Facebook Instagram

ABOUT US

Arrow
Arrow
Slider

Mission

The Quartiers Danses Festival has made it its mission to democratize contemporary dance and all its forms and hybrids by making it more accessible to all audiences in traditional and unusual venues. The FQD mostly offers shows from local artists, but also from national and international creators. It adopts a multidisciplinary approach of original dance that comprises show presentation, performances, installations, films, exhibits, meetings and discussions, and, lastly, cultural mediation workshops.

 

Mandate

1. Promoting artistic diversity

Convinced that dance is a universal language that speaks to all of us, the festival welcomes artists of all generations – emerging talents and renowned contemporary choreographers alike – and diversity. Quartiers Danses presents debut works, works in progress or new versions (creative laboratories) and reconstructed performances from the choreographic heritage, sometimes performed by pre-professionals.

2. Encouraging artistic development

The festival affords an enviable visibility to local and international artists.  Exchanges with other cities, provinces and countries are organized to promote Quebec dance performers, choreographers and directors.

3. Bringing dance closer to its audience

The festival is presented in a variety of venues throughout the city of Montreal – in keeping with the specifics of each work – in partnership with known performance venues, atypical venues, the Maisons de la culture from different neighbourhoods, universities, CEGEPS, public and community spaces (museums, hospitals, churches, pools, markets, parks, public squares, streets and sidewalks) and other organizations, so as to ensure that the largest possible number of people has access to these artistic events.

4. Widening the dance audience

The festival strives to make the work of artists from the world of dance accessible to all audiences, whose participation is encouraged.  The festival’s policy is to offer attractive prices or free admission to its shows, in keeping with its mandate of democratizing contemporary dance and increasing its reach.

 

History

Since May 2000, the organisation, co-founded by Rafik Hubert Sabbagh (Montreal) and Thierry Gourmelen (Carcassonne, France), has presented 14 events featuring 432 performances and 49 movie nights, 22 dance-themed visual art exhibits, and 63 conferences/meetings with the audience.


consult the detailed history

Festival Quartiers Danses

Twitter Facebook Instagram

À PROPOS

Mission

Le Festival Quartiers Danses a pour mission de démocratiser la danse contemporaine sous toutes ses formes et hybridités en la rendant plus accessible à tous les publics dans des lieux tant traditionnels qu’inusités. Le FQD offre principalement des spectacles d’artistes locaux, mais également de créateurs nationaux et internationaux. Il adopte une approche pluridisciplinaire de la danse de création par la diffusion de spectacles, de performances, d’installations, de films, d’expositions, de rencontres et tables-rondes et, enfin, d’ateliers de médiation culturelle.

 

Mandats

1. Présenter une diversité d’artistes

Convaincu que la danse est un langage universel capable de parler à tous, le festival invite des artistes de toutes les générations (talents émergents ou chorégraphes connus de création contemporaine) et aussi issus de la diversité. Quartiers Danses présente des premières œuvres, des œuvres retravaillées ou en évolution (laboratoires de création) ainsi que des reconstructions issues du patrimoine chorégraphique; parfois interprétées par des artistes en voix de professionnalisation.

2. Participer au développement artistique du milieu

Le festival donne une visibilité désirable à des artistes locaux et internationaux. Des échanges ont lieu avec d’autres villes, provinces ou pays pour faire connaître les artistes, chorégraphes et réalisateurs québécois en danse.

3. Amener la danse à son public

Le festival diffuse dans plusieurs lieux répartis dans la ville de Montréal, en adéquation avec les spécificités de chaque œuvre – en partenariat avec des lieux de diffusion reconnus, des lieux atypiques, des Maisons de la culture de différents quartiers, des universités, des cégeps, des lieux communautaires et publics (musées, hôpitaux, églises, piscines, marchés, parcs, places publiques, rues et trottoirs) et autres organisations – afin d’élargir le plus possible l’accès au public.

4. Augmenter le public pour la danse

Le festival met le travail des artistes en danse à la portée de tous les publics et privilégie leur participation. Il met de l’avant une politique tarifaire avantageuse ou d’entrée gratuite afin de répondre à son mandat de démocratisation de la danse contemporaine et d’en augmenter son rayonnement.

 

Historique

Depuis sa fondation en mai 2000 par Rafik Hubert Sabbagh (Montréal) et Thierry Gourmelen (Carcassonne, France), l’organisme a présenté 14 événements comprenant 432 représentations de spectacles et 49 soirées de films, 22 expositions d’art visuel sur la danse et 63 conférences-rencontres avec le public.

consultez l’historique détaillé